As I was relaxing and enjoying the Iowa vs. Penn State college football game over the weekend, I was shuffling through a recent Sports Illustrated issue. To my amazement I stumbled upon an advertisement for the University of Northern Iowa. My initial thought was, Wow! UNI is not messing around during these tough economic times for national advertising. But then I pondered for a minute and came to a consensus that most likely Sports Illustrated is offering a targeted demographic advertising approach through its national publication.

 

 

The direct/targeted advertising made my browsing experience create a whole new intimate connection with both UNI and SI.

 

With SI’s national presence the ad drew me in to feel a sense of connectedness. I was extremely shocked to see this ad, the ad itself is nothing to hype about but the logistics of the full page placement is very powerful. I am not certain how long they have been doing this or if it indeed was a national ad placement, though I doubt it. This type of targeted placement is what the industry needs in a time where content is moving all online. This could definitely buy the magazine and (national) newspaper industry some more time before the unthinkable occurs.

 

Am I a little late to notice this concept or is this relatively new? Or was this ad placed in all issues?

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

