I am extremely proud to announce that I have become the volunteer lead online voice for the Arthritis Foundation Iowa Chapter. Through the beginning of this launch I will be maintaining the Facebook and Twitter pages. It’s our goal to expand our social networking sites once a solid foundation has been established.

I am extremely excited to take on this new responsibility!

Through creating, building, and maintaining my own personal online brand I have created an enriched passion for the social media space. The opportunities and connections that exist within this space is endless.

Through this new involvement it’s not only out of my pure passion and enthusiasm for social media, but it’s mostly in part to support my beautiful wife and millions of others who have Arthritis. My wife was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis at the age of 20, she has since been living with this pestering disease for six years — it’s hard to even fathom it’s been that long. I think its gone by so quickly because she continues to live her life with an upbeat positive attitude.

She controls the disease, the disease does not control her.

Though there are extremely painful days for her; days where she’s unable to squeeze toothpaste out of the tube, days where she is unable to open a jar of peanut butter, and days where grasping and turning a door knob is unmanageable. But with those come very good days; days where she is able to run 3 miles, days where she is able to do push ups and sit ups, and days where she is able to participate in her true passion, basketball. I have endless amounts of respect and true admiration for her in not letting this dictate her life.

She has accepted this disease as this is how life is to be lived, but with the hopes of a cure… someday.

Along with my wife there are thousands and millions of others who are far worse; much older and even much younger.

– 46 million American adults and one in five Iowans have at least one form of arthritis.

– 611,000 adults in the state of Iowa living with a form of arthritis or chronic joint pain

– Arthritis is the nation’s leading cause of disability, and affects not only adults, but over 300,000 children across the United States.

Let’s move together in finding a cure for Arthritis.

I thank you for your support!

Follow us:

@Arthritis_IA | Facebook Fan Page | Find a walk near you

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

